Being involved in a car crash can either be a minor inconvenience in your day or a major impact on the rest of your life. Below are a few things that you should remember if you ever find yourself injured in a car crash that is not your fault.
Call law enforcement immediately and report the crash.
A full report of the accident will need to be documented as well as obtaining a copy of the driver’s exchange information. The exchange will provide information of all parties involved, as well as, assist you in making a claim to the at-fault party’s insurance. This will help expedite the process in resolving your case.
Take photos at the scene.
The scene of an accident can be chaotic but do your best to document whatever you can. Sometimes, you might not have significant damage on your vehicle but the at-fault driver’s hood is crushed. Having photos of both your vehicle and the at-fault person’s vehicle can help significantly when trying to negotiate your claim with the insurance company later.
Get witness names, phone numbers and addresses if they will provide it to you.
On some occasions, there may be someone who stopped to aid in the situation or witnesses the crash happen but, does not wait around for law enforcement to arrive. If there is ever and issue with liability, having a non-biased witness to attest to your version of events can make a huge advantage difference when discussing liability with the insurance company.
Report the claim to your insurance company.
Perhaps, the first thing you are thinking is, “This wasn’t my fault, the other person’s insurance should pay.” However, in the state of Florida, if you are injured in a car crash, your own insurance company is primary when I come to pay your medical bills. You will want to make a claim for personal injury protection benefits (also called PIP or no-fault) with your insurance company and obtain a claim number right away. When you go to the hospital, urgent care, or any other doctor’s office, you will want to provide the claim number. Personal injury protection also provides reimbursement for mileage to and from those doctor’s appointments, reimbursement for prescriptions as well as lost wages.
See a medical professional within 14 days after a crash.
In the state of Florida, you have 14 days to seek medical treatment in order to not forfeit you personal injury protection benefits. These benefits can cover the cost. Up to $10,000 that your insurance company will pay in regards to your medical bills, that you could lose if you do not see someone within that time period. That someone could be a hospital, an urgent care clinic, a chiropractor, etc.
Call an attorney right away
As a personal injury law firm, we are here to help guide you and get you fair compensation for your injuries. There are no upfront costs to you and if there is no recovery, you owe us nothing.
While car crashes are the most common types of claims, all of the above tips can also apply if you are injured by a car while a pedestrian or on a bicycle. Please call our office for a free consultation regarding your injury case. We are here 24/7 to assist you with your personal injury needs.